Giant Trance 27.5

PB Forum :: Giant
Giant Trance 27.5
| Next Page
Posted: May 15, 2019 at 8:09 Quote
Hey folks, I'm new to MTB and fsb. I was wondering what is a good rear shock upgrade for the 2019 trance 3.

Posted: May 15, 2019 at 8:16 Quote
NinjaTheDude wrote:
Hey folks, I'm new to MTB and fsb. I was wondering what is a good rear shock upgrade for the 2019 trance 3.

If you have the money Bike24 is selling Fox DHX2 in 185x55. You better snatch one up because these shocks are strictly OE only in this size.

Posted: May 15, 2019 at 8:23 Quote
NinjaTheDude wrote:

if possible trade in on a trace2. how long have you had your bike?

Posted: May 15, 2019 at 8:35 Quote
lifted-d wrote:
NinjaTheDude wrote:

if possible trade in on a trace2. how long have you had your bike?

His is a 2019 model. If anything he should wait until the 2020 models come out.

Posted: May 15, 2019 at 10:35 Quote
NinjaTheDude wrote:

Hi NTD.

Welcome to the forum, and congratulations on the bike! Awesome choice (I have the same).

The question that needs to be answered: why do you want to upgrade it? The only thing 'wrong' with the shock on that model is its lack of compression adjustment, but it's tuned fairly well. For reference, you the shock should start moving with only two finger's worth of pressure on the bike - it is that supple.

If you want a wonderful air shock, with more adjust ability, climb switch, and that can handle long DH, check out the DVO topaz 2.

If you want a lighter, more xc build - I'm unsure. Razz

For ultimate plushness, with some weight/pedalling compromise - grab a CCDB Coil in trunnion guise.

Posted: May 15, 2019 at 14:01 Quote
TheGnarlyCenturion wrote:
NinjaTheDude wrote:

Hi NTD.

Welcome to the forum, and congratulations on the bike! Awesome choice (I have the same).