MTB or BMX

Posted: May 31, 2008 at 16:37 Quote
bmxerdude1 wrote:
if u can't decide y not go in the middle...24"...
thats good idea to 24's with single speed

Posted: May 31, 2008 at 17:34 Quote
I've been riding MTB in Street/Park/DJ for 3 years, with a Norco 250. I bought my first BMX, an Eastern Element, two weeks ago, and I think it worth the $530.

Yeah, tricks come more easier and there is many new tricks that you can't do with MTB, as peg stall, footjam tailwhip, [...]

Also, it's a lot lighter and smaller; smaller --> easier to do tricks with it.

Anyway, it's your call, but I think BMX is great.

Posted: May 31, 2008 at 19:57 Quote
depends you like forks or not

Posted: May 31, 2008 at 20:00 Quote
jesse49 wrote:
depends you like forks or not

I've never seen a BMX without a fork. It's called suspension.

Posted: Jan 25, 2012 at 22:54 Quote
grampa wrote:
I ride both a BMX (Macneil) and MTB hardtail (Giant STP). The MTB works for all those situations, but a BMX is meant for all those situations. If I'm feeling lazy and don't want to try anything technical, I take the MTB. If I want to do anything technical I take the BMX. I like the BMX for its stiffness, simplicity and potential for technical stuff - if I have been riding the MTB for a bit the BMX feels like it will kick my ass because it has such fast handling - that tells me you become a better rider on the BMX than the MTB. Add to that the difference in cost and ongoing maintenance and I give BMX the thumbs up.

So, since it's harder to ride, that makes it better? I look at bmx like a training tool... like running with a mini parachute on or swinging a bat with a weight on it. It has improved my mountain bike game. Important, since that is the more enjoyable and useful bike choice.

Posted: Jan 26, 2012 at 6:44 Quote