Riding techniques/skills

• Previous Page
  • Next Page
Posted: Apr 13, 2014 at 14:18 Quote
Hi everyone,

This is my first post.

I am new to the mountain biking scene. I ride 4 days a week, mainly freeriding and participating in local XC races. I have noticed that when I am with a large group of people I seem to do more things (bigger drop offs, jumps, take corners faster...) and I was wondering to get better at mountain biking (generally faster on the decent side of things, where I generally chicken out on stuff or don't dare go fast enough), do my skills have to improve or should I just go for things rather than hesitating?

What are your recommendations for progressing, and getting better (is it a case of just going for it and see my skills improve this way, or should I improve my skills and fear will go away)?

Thanks
Chris

Posted: Apr 13, 2014 at 21:49 Quote
That's how things roll In a big group. As foot getting faster goes. It takes time, I'm a person who can't go fast Until I learn the trail a bit or know there isn't anything in the trail. After ridding a bit with faster people, you figure it out.

But mainly keep your head up eyes straight, head up. Scan the trail,not look at your front tire(it's hard trust me, just tell your self eyes up)
Stand proud on the bike. Lay off the brakes(I still have a problem, I've had some injurys so a little voice in my head yells some times). It really takes time and you will get it.

Riding with fast people helps a lot. I'm still slow, but I find myself hanging not too far from the group anymore.

I recommend getting a copy of "the mountain bike skills manual" by Clive forth. He made it so you can skip around sections. It's helped a lot.

Posted: Apr 14, 2014 at 7:52 Quote