I just don't get the 1X gear hype?

PB Forum :: All Mountain, Enduro & Cross-Country
I just don't get the 1X gear hype?
  • Previous Page
Posted: Aug 14, 2014 at 20:57 Quote
I ride my bike quite often for several miles on the pavement to get to single track trails and I have to say I use every single one of my gears almost daily on a 3X system. Yes I have smashed the larger sprocket on rocks, yes it adds weight(like 1/20th of a pound), but I couldn't imagine being stuck with so few gears? All the new bikes I'm looking at are 2X for a mid grade bike and 1X for better bikes? Do I just belong on cheapy bikes or something?

Posted: Aug 14, 2014 at 21:38 Quote
what cassette do you have? how about tire size?

i started wondering about the hype so i started riding my 3x9 without using the large chainring, and i found a few situations were i actually would like to use the large chainring, but wasnt that big a deal. i recently got a new trail bike, its a 29er with a 2x10 drivetrain. today i had to bike to work and got it flat out as fast as i could go down a hill on pavement and i didnt feel at all that i needed another gear.

O+
Posted: Aug 15, 2014 at 8:15 Quote
Seems to me that 1x drivetrains can give you the same (or very close to the same) gear range as a 2x or 3x system. But the one thing they can't do is what I think of as "instant bailout" - being able to do one shift and getting a significantly lower gear (granny in front). On a 1x system, the downshift takes a little bit longer and more crank rotation to achieve. I'm running a 2x10 system, and like it. I'd probably go 1x except I use that bailout option pretty regularly.

Posted: Aug 15, 2014 at 8:25 Quote