SLX brakes for dh/fr

PB Forum :: Downhill
SLX brakes for dh/fr
  • Previous Page
  • Next Page
Posted: Aug 24, 2014 at 20:27 Quote
I am looking to upgrade my brakes but i don't want to break the bank. I've looked at zee's,codes,saints etc but all of those are a little pricey for a 15 year old. Will slx work or should i spend the extra cash?

Posted: Aug 24, 2014 at 20:56 Quote
i would definitely go with shimano brakes. I am a mechanic at a shop and I find that shimanos are hands down the most reliable and easiest to work on. Brakes are nothing to skimp on either. I'd go for the zees if you can afford them.

Posted: Aug 24, 2014 at 21:15 Quote
nuttbt wrote:
i would definitely go with shimano brakes. I am a mechanic at a shop and I find that shimanos are hands down the most reliable and easiest to work on. Brakes are nothing to skimp on either. I'd go for the zees if you can afford them.
How do slx compare to zee
Its $80 for slx per break compared to $135 for zee per break of chain reaction.
Price vs performence... how do the slx perform?

Posted: Aug 24, 2014 at 21:54 Quote
i've only worked on slx brakes in the shop, never ridden them. from what I hear though, you want to go zee at the minimum for serious downhill.

Posted: Aug 24, 2014 at 22:06 Quote
im 210lbs, I ride decently hard / fast. took a chance with SLX since I was feeling too poor for Zee's

I have no complaints, one finger braking at all times, metallic pads make a big difference over the stock resin, tossed them in the front, resins are good enough in the rear. So far so good.

Posted: Aug 25, 2014 at 0:23 Quote
Hi bud ive ran the older SLX breakes for years and that includes a number of holidays to the alps for weeks long DH/FR never had any problems or any need to change them I paired them with the xt ice rotors and will recommend them 100%.

Posted: Aug 25, 2014 at 7:39 Quote
Sweet ! Thanks for all the input