Where'd you ride today?

PB Forum :: Pinkbike Groups
Where'd you ride today?
Posted: Jun 22, 2021 at 14:08 Quote
this may be the wrong crowd to ask, but any tips for trying to ride clipped in? I've ridden flats for the last 4 years, and last year i started riding clipped in on my gravel bike no problem and riding trails/hitting jumps on that bike. But for whatever reason i can't seem to ride the mountain bikes clipped in, even on trails where i'd never take a foot off anyways and id actually prefer my feet to not move around. Today I'm putting my clipless pedals (some Look xt trail copies) on my short travel mtb and forcing myself to ride clipped in, but i just wanted to see if anyone had some tips for getting past the mental block there.

Posted: Jun 22, 2021 at 16:05 Quote
newbermuda wrote:
this may be the wrong crowd to ask, but any tips for trying to ride clipped in? I've ridden flats for the last 4 years, and last year i started riding clipped in on my gravel bike no problem and riding trails/hitting jumps on that bike. But for whatever reason i can't seem to ride the mountain bikes clipped in, even on trails where i'd never take a foot off anyways and id actually prefer my feet to not move around. Today I'm putting my clipless pedals (some Look xt trail copies) on my short travel mtb and forcing myself to ride clipped in, but i just wanted to see if anyone had some tips for getting past the mental block there.

Do 15 mtb rides clipped in and you will be second nature with it but once you get to used to it you will suck on flats...., I have been riding clipped in since the mid 90's and feel like a fish out of water on flats....You develop true skills on flats and clipped in causes you to tend to cheat true skills...

Posted: Jun 22, 2021 at 16:06 Quote
ScaryGuiTarS wrote: