Are DH Bikes needed in the UK?

PB Forum :: Downhill
Are DH Bikes needed in the UK?
  • Previous Page
Posted: Dec 21, 2014 at 11:58 Quote
Hi

I realise I am new to Pinkbike so please be nice!
I have been riding around a load of trials in the UK mainly being Degla and Bikepark Wales. I do they on a very capable Lapierre Zesty with 150mm travel. And whilst I am currently looking for something geared a little less around climbs and a allot more DH..
I see loads of DH rigs around and my question is in the uk do we really need 200mm of travel?!

Really appreciate any thoughts here

Posted: Dec 21, 2014 at 12:53 Quote
It really depends on where you live. I can only speak for myself since I live in Surrey but the biggest bike you really need for around here is a 160mm all mountain bike, with most people I see either on hardtails, or up to 140mm trail bikes. I've only seen dh bikes at specific dh locations, and having tried my mates GT Fury on both on push up dh trails and general trail riding, I can determine that for the 95% of riding that I've experienced a downhill bike would be a hindrance, with a slack 140-180mm bike being as if not more fun for doing stuff on.

Just take into account that this is a sole opinion from one of the less mountainous counties and prefer a more interactive, lighter bikes most of the time. I've currently got a 2014 Giant Trance 1, and I find that to be ideal most of the time, and I've never really felt that my bikes is out of its depth. I'm also curious to hear what other people have to say Smile

Posted: Dec 21, 2014 at 14:34 Quote
You being from manchester the peak district is within travelling distance and looking online they hold some good trails,
but if you head north there are places like guisburn forest, cock hill and mentham.
but its up to you to justify travelling and where you would go to Smile

Posted: Dec 21, 2014 at 17:54 Quote
Seeing as most of the best DH racers come from the uk I'd confidently say yes.