Mtn Bike Maintainence

PB Forum :: Beginners
Mtn Bike Maintainence
  • Previous Page
  • Next Page
Posted: Dec 30, 2014 at 21:26 Quote
Hey guys,

Just got my first (proper) mountain bike and I'm wondering what are some tips to keep it in good shape.
I have a 'hardtail' bike, w/ entry-level rockshox front suspension and hydraulic disc brakes. I look forward to riding it quite frequently and taking it onto some trails when I can.

any good habits to pick up to keep it running smooth for the long run?

Thanks

Posted: Dec 31, 2014 at 8:34 Quote
Keep everything clean and lubed properly. This can be done best by doing it fresh home from the trail while enjoying a few beers. And just suck up the cost of a tuneup at least once a year at the bike shop. I take mine twice a year. I never have a day that my bike is the reason i cant ride.

Posted: Mar 13, 2015 at 7:02 Quote
I'm a working bike mechanic, and my two cents' worth goes like this:

CLEAN YOUR EFFING CHAIN AND DRIVETRAIN components!!!Smile If you do it on a reasonably regular basis, it isn't that hard or time consuming. HOT water with dish soap and a brush works fine. Doing it regularly will keep your drivetrain functioning smoothly and alert you to adjustmemt and wear issues before they become big problems.

Lube your chain with a dry lube to minimize the gunk factor.

Clean, but DON'T lube your derailleurs. Otherwise you wind up with abrasive, oily, gunk in the pivot points, which wears them out faster.

Watch out for kinked cables and housings. They are a common cause of glitchy shifting.

Make friends with the mechanic(s) @ your local bike shop. Beer and weed are good tools for this. Have them teach you about setting derailleur limit screws and minor wheel trueing. Trial and error are a terrible (and expensive!) way to learn about both subjects.