Steel or Aluminium?

PB Forum :: Beginners
Steel or Aluminium?
  • Previous Page
  • Next Page
Posted: Mar 24, 2015 at 15:24 Quote
Hi guys, I'm new to the world of biking and am looking to get into XC and trail stuff and am at the point whereby I am deciding which bike to buy. I've always been told is best but after doing some online digging I am unsure.

So my question is this, which would be more beneficial a steel frame or aluminium? And what are the pros and cons of each?

I'm 5'8" and 70kg approx, cheers!
Ash

Posted: Apr 18, 2015 at 12:44 Quote
Hi

The steel is more heavy and not has strong has the aluminium. If u are a beginner and if you intends to continue in MTB you should buy the aluminium frame. The material use in Mtb its aluminium and carbon the steel was use in the last 8 years Wink

Cheers Wink

Posted: May 25, 2015 at 20:38 Quote
Most high end frames are steel or carbon, aluminum is a great material but it is not near as comfortable to ride. Steel is stronger.

But you can get a lighter cheaper frame on alu

Posted: Sep 12, 2015 at 18:41 Quote
Steel all the way

FL
Posted: Sep 16, 2015 at 20:25 Quote
It's all up to personal preference, aluminum will be lighter and stiffer, but steel will give a more comfy ride.

Posted: Sep 19, 2015 at 20:29 Quote
When you really get down to it, steel is on Walmart bike and Aluminum is on Trek, Specialized, Rocky Mountain, and other name brands such as these. If you do really want to get into biking, get aluminum.

Posted: Sep 19, 2015 at 21:16 Quote