MTB exhaustion and health

PB Forum :: Fitness, Training and Health
MTB exhaustion and health
  • Previous Page
  • Next Page
Posted: Apr 6, 2015 at 8:21 Quote
Hi everyone, so, lately I've noticed that everytime I go on a very long and physically demanding ride, a couple of days later I always come down with the flu or something like that, and was wondering if there's someone out there that has noticed/experienced something like this, and what or how have you dealt wiht it? I took some vitamin C after yesterday's ride wich was 46Km long but with very very tough/steep climbs and long, fast descents, but I throat is getting sore and I've started getting a runny nose.. so I will most likely come down with strepthroat or flu.. again.. please help!

O+
Posted: Apr 6, 2015 at 8:52 Quote
i'm no expert but i just read up on cold & flu recovery as i'm 3 weeks suffering & desperate to get out on the bike.it can take 3-4 weeks to recover fully from cold or flu virus & in that time the body is working to rid the body of infected cells which is why its recommended to rest well. when you do strenuos activity it can cause a relapse & so you may start too feel the usual symptoms associated with cold & flu.

Posted: Apr 7, 2015 at 21:16 Quote
The correlation is obvious - after long and exhausting ride your organism is not resistant to infections - your natural immunity is weakened and you're "open" for all viruses surrounding us. It may happen more often when your natural immunity is relatively lower (some people are more resistant, some are less). It's not obvious how to prevent: for sure you need to regenerate well after ride, drink, eat, rest and probably avoid direct contact with people. A-D-E made a good point - you must get well after long illness before coming back to exhausting rides!

Posted: Apr 11, 2015 at 10:17 Quote
thanks for the advice, will keep looking into it.

Posted: Apr 21, 2015 at 12:55 Quote