Why does everyone hate E-Bikes so much?

PB Forum :: All Mountain, Enduro & Cross-Country
Why does everyone hate E-Bikes so much?
Previous Page | Next Page
Posted: Oct 2, 2015 at 12:42 Quote
I don't understande why everyone hates them so much, and I like them, so change my view.

I have been working at an e-Bike shop for about 3 years. We mostly sell commuter bikes, but we are beginning to see a lot more interest in the mountain bike scene, however, as I was looking around on Pinkbike, I saw these two posts (https://www.pinkbike.com/news/opinion-friends-dont-let-friends-ride-e-bikes-2014.html and https://www.pinkbike.com/news/opinion-a-secret-trail-and-the-argument-against-e-bikes-2014.html) which are full of hate for e-Bikes and despite some of the valid points, a lot of it is not correct.

Electric bikes don't destroy trails faster than normal bikes, (at least not lower powered ones, things like the "Stealth Bomber" are exceptions)
Electric Bikes still require skill to use.
Electric Bikes are still exercise.
Electric bikes are NOT even close to as powerful as a trials bike, and a lot of people are fine with them on the trails. (not everyone of course.)
There are other points, but what do you all think?

Also, if I was out on the trail, on my e-Bike, and you saw me, what would you do? If you decided to confront me about it, and I took my battery out, and put it in my backpack (effectively making it non-electric) would you still say it was electric and be confrontational?

Posted: Oct 3, 2015 at 5:16 Quote
Personally, I can't see the point.

I dislike quads, motorbikes and any other form of transport that's not pedal powered being on the trails, dog walkers and horses too.

I don't hate e-bikes per say but I don't get them at all and really don't see why you'd want one on the trails, it defeats the objective.

Posted: Oct 3, 2015 at 9:02 Quote
midgetmiles wrote:
I don't understande why everyone hates them so much, and I like them, so change my view.