Deep scratch in carbon frame

PB Forum :: Mechanics' Lounge
Deep scratch in carbon frame
  • Previous Page
  • Next Page
O+
Posted: Feb 22, 2016 at 18:32 Quote
*I searched around a bit, but couldn't find any good answers where carbon was actually exposed*

I have a quite new carbon rocky mountain instinct that just recently got a nasty scratch on the top tube that goes down just far enough that I can see a little but if carbon. I am ok with the scratch, I just want to make sure that it is ok to have the carbon exposed and won't cause any damage. I've heard about covering it up with clear nail polish, should I do that?

Posted: Feb 23, 2016 at 5:34 Quote
I'm no bicycle engineer or carbon expert, but I work with composite aircraft blades. We use a product called: Huntsman Araldite 2012 Fast Setting All-Purpose Epoxy. Its $20 on amazon, tinsel strength is amazing, check specs on the huntsman website. Watch some youtube videos on surfboard repair, almost the same thing. Don't use nail polish.

O+
Posted: Feb 23, 2016 at 11:44 Quote
Andr0id wrote:
I'm no bicycle engineer or carbon expert, but I work with composite aircraft blades. We use a product called: Huntsman Araldite 2012 Fast Setting All-Purpose Epoxy. Its $20 on amazon, tinsel strength is amazing, check specs on the huntsman website. Watch some youtube videos on surfboard repair, almost the same thing. Don't use nail polish.

Nail polish is just to seal and protect the clear coat, which itself protects the carbon fibers.

For deep scratch you need something with strength. Can you share a photo?

The strength in your frame comes from the carbon fibers. If they are nicked you can't squeeze glue into the scratch because the fibers are no longer continuous. Need to fill nick and then lay new fiber over it.