Remedy 8 worth it over the 7?

PB Forum :: Trek
Remedy 8 worth it over the 7?
  • Previous Page
  • Next Page
Posted: Feb 24, 2016 at 10:37 Quote
A little background: I'm still a newbie who has some experience with an older xc Cannondale hard-tail (3x8 drivetrain, 100mm fork) and most recently sold my 2015 Diamondback- "Hook" which had some nice modern features that appealed to me as a rider way more than the xc bike I had like a one-by setup, wide bars/short stem, etc.

This would be my first jump into dual suspension. I still need to really look into SRAM's new-ish "GX" drivetrain but it's kind of a toss up between a 2x Shimano Deore drivetrain or a 1x11 GX. I haven't used a front deraileur in a while but I'm not too opposed to a 2x system especially if the Shimano has better components over the "budget" GX. The 8 comes with a Rockshox Pike which, I assume, is a lot better than Revelation but I'm sure both are worlds better than the entry level Suntour.

These two models cost a few times more than the Diamondback I had so I just want to make sure this chunk of money goes to the one that makes me happy the longest Smile Thanks for any help!

FL
Posted: Mar 4, 2016 at 13:42 Quote
IMHO yes it is worth it. Both the wife and I have Treks, she has a Remedy 8 2016 and I have a Slash 8 2016, the Pikes are an awesome fork, the GX shifts so smoothly and the 1x11 gearing is just right.

Dan

O+
Posted: Apr 13, 2016 at 22:53 Quote
I have a Remedy 7, and just upgraded parts to where I wanted it. In the end my 7 now costs more than the 8 but I have the exact bike I want. Plus I found some smoking deals along the way which also helps.

Posted: Apr 14, 2016 at 3:50 Quote
nhyc00's right. Same here, upgraded most everything on it. I've got a badass bike, but if the 8 is spec'd right for you go for it.

Posted: Jul 23, 2016 at 16:34 Quote
Danmcdan wrote: