Fox X2 Squelching

• Previous Page
Posted: Feb 29, 2016 at 12:17 Quote
Does anyone have an X2 that squelches when it has been stood for a while? Once it has been compressed a few times it is fine, however, when it has been stood it makes this noise. Any help?

Posted: Feb 29, 2016 at 22:44 Quote
My son has one on his Enduro and we've never heard that ?! Pop the air can off and see if it is dry? Sounds like damping though? I might send it in to Fox as you don't want to wreck it. Best shock made. Period.

Posted: Feb 29, 2016 at 23:01 Quote
Yeah so its been back a couple of times already. They say it could potentially be the way its mounted to the nomad. Something to do with fluid pooling around the negative air spring. Im not technically minded so it all goes over my head. Anyone got a Nomad and had the same issue?

Posted: Mar 1, 2016 at 8:35 Quote
Fox told you that? There should not be fluid in the air can. Maybe a couple of cc of oil at most but mostly grease. It is more vertical then on an Enduro.

O+
Posted: Mar 1, 2016 at 11:45 Quote
Air in the damper. Both my CCDB air and coil does it and seeing how the X2 is a similar design to the CCDB, it could be the same issue.

Posted: Mar 1, 2016 at 12:38 Quote
What is the solution then? Or is there none?

Posted: Mar 1, 2016 at 16:24 Quote
It can't be air in the damper, it would feel like crap. Slide the air can off and take a look and see how much fluid is in there. You can move the damper independent then.

O+
Posted: Mar 2, 2016 at 9:33 Quote
The reason I say air in the damper is because after you start using it, the air gets emulsified into the oil and becomes less pronounced. Of course if there was a lot of air in the damper, it would feel like crap, but as of right now it sounds like just a little.

In any case, it will eventually require a rebuild/oil change.

Posted: Nov 20, 2016 at 8:59 Quote
MarkT1993 wrote: