Official Kelowna and Westbank Thread

PB Forum :: Canada - West
Official Kelowna and Westbank Thread
Posted: Dec 9, 2020 at 17:15 Quote
Jessev wrote:
Hey everyone, I've grown my 'N' from 2 to 6 bikes this year, with the intention of overhauling them all this winter. I've got a good home bike shop and plenty of experience but I'm no professional. I've never pulled a headset/fork, for instance, never worked on an internal hub shifter, have only reassembled a bottom bracket once, etc. I'm wondering if there's someone in the Kelowna area with lots of experience with bikes of all kinds that would be willing to come work on them with be sometime. I'd like suggestions of tools to buy, guidance on making the bikes I have cooler/safer/more reliable (they are all functional!) and then some help with some work I haven't done before, like suspension maintenance or rebuilding a Sturmey Archer hub! Other people have been leaving me bikes to fix too so there's plenty of fun to be had haha. I'll pay you of course!!

My stable:
1974 Raleigh Sports DL22 (stuck in gear, needs hub rebuild mostly)
1989 Miyata Country Runner (nothing needed, just have some new tires on the way)
1991 Miele Lupa (Runs great, currently apart for new cables and bar tape, would like to add finishing touches to it, maybe rebuild bottom bracket)
2013 Trek Madone 3.1 (just needs new bar tape and suggestions for a better seat/other upgrades)
2015 DeVinci Troy Carbon (New tires and brake pads on the way, suspension has NEVER been done)

On top of that I have in my possession:
a friends Opus mountain bike that just needs a brake bleed, I don't have the parts needed for Hayes.
A friends old CCM that needs the Sturmey Archer hub rebuild also and just general maintanence
a couple road bikes, a unicycle, etc...

Ideally you're a professional or experienced backyard bike mechanic with experience with bikes of all generations willing to share what you know!