Specialized demo owners club
Posted: Jun 3, 2017 at 6:13 Quote
BombShellBike wrote:
photo

Finished up my build.
And now have one question...
I went with E*Thirteen chain guide
And I have a race face narrow wide
Do I need the lower roller? That holds up the chain from the bottom. Sorry for bad crank position in the photo
Any benefit with or with out it?

I see pictures and some run it and some don't.

Gorgeous Demo! Also I see a lot of people running only the top guide.

Posted: Jun 4, 2017 at 1:56 Quote
Captain65 wrote:
Guys
I see you all talking about Coil spring lengths
I bought a new Coil from a shop and it was a lot shorter than the oringinal. Actually I will have to use a spring compressor to take the original off as there is no room to remove the retainer even when the Coil is full unwound
FYI
The original was 18060 x75
The new one 18055 x70

Any thoughts, do I have the correct 2017 spring?

PS 5"10' go the L frame

I am no expert, but the stroke should be 75mm for a demo. That sounds like a spring for an Enduro and could bind under full travel.

18055 is for this shock > https://www.ohlins.eu/en/products/mountainbike/mtb-1425--6132/

Demo is this one > https://www.ohlins.eu/en/products/mountainbike/mtb-1415--5724/

I have yet to find any info on the 2017 springs other than the pictures. It is not mentioned on the Ohlins website unless they have kept the same part number. I would expect the new spring to still have the stroke listed as 75mm but have thinner/fewer turns to allow less weight and shorter like Fox SLS springs.

Posted: Jun 4, 2017 at 4:35 Quote
The info for the spring is on the Ohlins website although they have changed the wording slightly.

You are right though the stroke should still be the same even though the spring is shorter.

Posted: Jun 4, 2017 at 13:47 Quote
As you say looking closer the quoted overall lengths are now 15-20mm less like for like. Part numbers have remained the same.

O+
Posted: Jun 9, 2017 at 8:40 Quote