Chronic forearm pump...Help!

PB Forum :: Fitness, Training and Health
Chronic forearm pump...Help!
Previous Page |
Posted: Feb 7, 2017 at 19:03 Quote
Hello to those reading!

I have been riding MTB for around 5 years now, but for the past 6 months I have been experiencing fatigue in the forearms to the extent that I have never felt before. I can't even ride pump tracks for too long (15 mins) before I can barely grip my bars and for this reason my love for riding has diminished. My riding buddies think I'm a pussy for this reason and I understand their mentality haha. I want to be able to shred again! If you have any tips or have overcome a situation similar to what I am going through, please let me know!

Cheers,

Braden

Posted: Feb 7, 2017 at 19:08 Quote
your fork might need rebuilding.

Posted: Feb 9, 2017 at 16:25 Quote
Lol I did service my fork funny enough. I'm pretty sure it's the way I grip the bars

Posted: Feb 10, 2017 at 20:21 Quote
1. do not have a death grip on the bars, just enough not to let go.

2. try different types of grips, ergon etc

3. build more strength

4. muscles may be pre-fatigued from work activity etc....need to learn to relax the muscles.

Posted: Feb 14, 2017 at 6:52 Quote
may not be your case but,I started riding bikes with more reach so effectively I don't hang off the back end as much and I don't really get arm pump any more,how you set your forks will have effect also

Posted: Feb 16, 2017 at 18:32 Quote
if thats your trek in your photo album (nice bike by the way) i would guess that the brake levers are way too low....i would imagine that its like doing a press up on the back of your hand...makes my arms ache just thinking about it....other that that i would say your too weighted over the front of your bike...maybe try some gloves if you dont already use them, higher rise bar with some flex but still plenty strong eg renthal fatbar light...sorry cant think of anything else.

Posted: Feb 18, 2017 at 11:52 Quote