YT Jeffsy 27 thread - small wheels only...

PB Forum :: All Mountain, Enduro & Cross-Country
YT Jeffsy 27 thread - small wheels only...
Posted: Apr 25, 2018 at 12:26 Quote
staudmtb wrote:
Hey guys,

I'm a bit of a newb when it comes to setting up suspension, but I know I'm not getting near the full travel out of my bike.

I was on a pretty rough ride yesterday with a long loose rock garden, and by the end of the ride I had only used about 60-65% of my front shock sag and 70%ish of my rear shock.

I'll have to double check the PSI, but I weigh right around the 200lb mark, so when I built the bike, I set my fork pressure at 85psi and my rear shock at 200psi.

Has anyone else experienced this? I've seen some things about removing volume spacers? Is that necessary or could I just drop the pressure in the shocks by a few psi to compensate?

Set it by sag. I have a bit more than 25% front (attack position) and around 32% rear (sitting with both feet on the pedals).
The frame is pretty progressive so you can use more sag than on other frames.
I am 180 lbs and have 60 front and 160 back. 85 and 200 seem to be a lot for me. Anyways, gauges can be off and such, but sag never lies.

Posted: Apr 25, 2018 at 12:47 Quote
@BennyBianco

Loosen it up and see how far it goes. Smile
If the 150 is too much, you could probably sell it as near new and put a 125 in there.

Suspension.

@staudmtb
I'm 185 without gear and set my front fork at 80psi, the shock at 190, so we are pretty close on numbers. Have you set the compression/rebound on your fork yet? That will make a difference in how the front feels. Start in the middle range and adjust from there. To see how the changes affect the suspension, set them to their extremes and cycle the suspension and watch what happens. I typically go through about 80% of my travel on a given ride. This is actually what you want. The last 20% or so is your reserve for big hits.