Looking for a versatile bike that can be used for single track but still jumped relatively effectively..any suggestions?

PB Forum :: Dirt Jumping & Street
Looking for a versatile bike that can be used for single track but still jumped relatively effectively..any suggestions?
  • Previous Page
  • Next Page
Posted: Mar 21, 2017 at 8:01 Quote
Looking for something I could do light jumping but still ride a few miles of single track effectively. I know the two styles of riding are going to be a bit count-intuitive to one another but theres gotta be something that is up that alley. This is my first time posting in pb so if im doing something wrong with where or how im posting feel free to let me know.

FL
Posted: Mar 21, 2017 at 8:45 Quote
chromag stylus
put a dropper to ride some singletrack
drop the seat and style the jumps

O+
Posted: Mar 21, 2017 at 13:26 Quote
You can do this with really any bike that will allow you to have a decent seated peddling position, or just stand and peddle lol.I trail ride my dirt jumper all the time. I used to have a 1x9 drivetrain on it(singlespeed now)so really I could hit any trail in the south east. I would just soften the fork preload to ease the bumps. Even with singlespeed I rode Coldwater Mountain in Anniston,AL just a few weeks back on a trip. People looked at me funny since I was on a 26" Dartmoor jump bike, with 100mm marz fork, and Singlespeed, while they all had carbon, full suspension, 27.5/29" bikes with 6" travel, and I was standing up and jumping everything I could lol.

Posted: Mar 22, 2017 at 16:37 Quote
Yeah, this is kind of a common question.