Upgrading fork on Specialized Stumpjumper 2014

PB Forum :: Specialized
Upgrading fork on Specialized Stumpjumper 2014
  • Previous Page
Posted: Mar 21, 2017 at 8:15 Quote
Hey peeps!

I have a Specialized Stumpjumper FSR Comp (2014) that came with 130mm Reveletion fork. I was thinking about upgrading the fork to 140 or 150. Please drop your suggestions and experiences. Will 150 put my frame's integrity at stake? I mean would it even break it?

Sorry, I have no experience with forks whatsoever. So need help.

O+
Posted: Mar 21, 2017 at 11:49 Quote
Your frame would be fine. I'm not sure the Revelation is the fork to stretch out to 150. I think you be better off find a Pike or a Fox 34 in 150.

dhananjay151293 wrote:
Hey peeps!

I have a Specialized Stumpjumper FSR Comp (2014) that came with 130mm Reveletion fork. I was thinking about upgrading the fork to 140 or 150. Please drop your suggestions and experiences. Will 150 put my frame's integrity at stake? I mean would it even break it?

Posted: Mar 22, 2017 at 2:38 Quote
rmgoff1 wrote:
Your frame would be fine. I'm not sure the Revelation is the fork to stretch out to 150. I think you be better off find a Pike or a Fox 34 in 150.

dhananjay151293 wrote:
Hey peeps!

Yeah, I have been eyeballing Pike too! What do you think about Yari? Just having the thought of a damaged frame is scaring the s**t out of me.

O+
Posted: Mar 22, 2017 at 6:31 Quote
The Yari is pretty sweet. The motion control damper isn't bad, but the charger is better. Kinda depends on your budget and how you ride. If you're on a stricter budget but like to ride hard the Yari is for you. If you ride hard and have more cash go for the Lyrik.

If on the other hand you're less aggressive the pike will be great. Another nod to the pike is that it's not exactly soft by anymeans. So if you mostly trail ride but hit a few gnarly trails each summer you'll be just find on the pike.