This is driving me insane

PB Forum :: All Mountain, Enduro & Cross-Country
This is driving me insane
Previous Page | Next Page
Posted: Apr 28, 2017 at 16:49 Quote
Hello right it's finally new bike time and I keep changing my mind and it's driving me mad. I have finally settled on one of two bike (maybe). First one is the new Mondraker Dune R the only thing that's putting me off is the fork it's a fox 36 Grip. I've no experience with Fox and not sure if the fork is any good. The other option is the Nukeproof Mega PRO 27.5. The only thing putting me off on that is the XT brakes. I have heard they can have a changing bite point and I've heard it from a few people. Anyone have any experience with either of them?

The other bike that is in the mix is the Whyte G-160 rs. This is really driving me mad haha

Posted: Apr 28, 2017 at 18:12 Quote
Haven't ridden either of the first two you like but I do have a 2016 Whyte G-160 RS.
The Whyte overall has the better spec, is boost, is lighter, has new 12 speed drivetrain and has the simplest linkage design with great bearings. It is spot on in terms of geometry to the Mondraker, the Nukeproof seems to be on the tighter side for the same wheelbase.
The G-160 is an extremely capable and stable bike at any speed but even more so the faster you go. It wants to go fast and the steeper and faster the better. Climbs extremely well, it is not fast, but it doesn't wear you out and is easy to maneuver around and or over obstacles.
If you want a heavy hitting Enduro bike that is downhill capable the Whyte is superb. A little too much of a bike for me, but if that's what you are looking for it is superb.

Posted: Apr 29, 2017 at 5:52 Quote
He's running avid ultimate brake levers.

Posted: Apr 29, 2017 at 5:54 Quote
He is sponsored by them

Posted: Apr 29, 2017 at 9:17 Quote