New Rider Here Looking for Advice.

PB Forum :: Beginners
New Rider Here Looking for Advice.
  • Previous Page
  • Next Page
Posted: Apr 28, 2017 at 18:12 Quote
Good Evening all.

I am new to riding, singletrack/trail and am in teh market for a bike.

I have decided to go the used route vs jumping in and buying a new bike in hopes of gaining some features a new on in my rice range would not have.

Searching my local CL I have come across a 08 Cannondale Prophet Lefty with 1X10 conversion. The fork was rebuilt last year by Mendon Cyclesmith (2016) and has some upgrades like Fox Float rear shock, Raceface narrow wide chainring and Shimano Deore derailleur with clutch, Thompson seat post, Reface grips.

The other bike I am looking at is 2008 GT Sanction 3.0. as fars as I can tell it is all original. I have read bad things about the forks, which are Suntour, as far as I can see.

The Cannondale is priced at $750 and the GT is priced at $1000, but this seems ot be negotionable after I showed the seller the bluebook value.

The Cannondale seems to be ready to go, but i have read about the maintainance that comes witht he lefty forks.

I know I would probably buy new forks if I went with the GT.

On the new side, I was offered a Specialized Pitch Comp by my LBS in my price range.

Any advice, things to look for when buying, and what I should be paying fr either bike would be awesome from some of the expirienced riders.

Thanks!

Posted: Apr 28, 2017 at 22:03 Quote
I would take the GT over the canondale.

Mostly because I like the geo of the GT better.

Posted: Apr 28, 2017 at 23:04 Quote
cmcrawfo wrote:
I would take the GT over the canondale.

Mostly because I like the geo of the GT better.
Exactly, go for the GT! Smile Would any day prefer GT over a Cannondale.

Posted: Apr 28, 2017 at 23:16 Quote
but, 1000 seems a bit steep. work him down!

Posted: Apr 29, 2017 at 2:39 Quote
Awesome, thanks for the replies!