1 x 11 Drivetrain Issue

PB Forum :: Beginners
1 x 11 Drivetrain Issue
  • Previous Page
  • Next Page
Posted: Jul 11, 2017 at 6:27 Quote
Apologies if this question is raised elsewhere, but I could not find any information on it....

I am looking for a bit of advice regarding 1 x 11 drive trains. I have just bought my son a 27.5" + hardtail as his first "proper" mountain bike. It came with a 1 x 11 drive train, I believe, to allow for clearance between the tyre and the chain when on the largest ring on the cassette. I have no personal experience of a 1 x 11 drivetrain, but I bought the bike as I felt it would give my inexperienced son a good level of confidence with the additional grip and role over ability that the 27.5" plus tire size would offer.

However, on our first ride out, when crawling up some steep rocky slopes in 1st gear it became apparent that if he "stalled out" and need to back pedal to get his feet into a good position for most power, as he back pedalled the chain would go from 1st gear to 4th or 5th due to the alignment of the single ring at the front with the cassette. Obsiously when he then tried to apply power the derailleur would then try to shift back to 1st. I spent time drilling into him not to be applying too much power when changing gear due to wear/damage that can occur.

Has anyone else come across this issue? And How have you got around it? Obviously the simple thing is to not back pedal but at some point, especially as a beginner, it becomes a necessity. Any advice would be appreciated.

Posted: Jul 11, 2017 at 7:22 Quote
Chain drop, while back pedaling, is a common issue with 1x set ups.

2 ways to fix / lessen its impact.

1. Dont back pedal.
2. Attempt to correct the chain line. (easier on some bikes than others) ... either a offset chain ring, or chain ring spacers can help bring the chain line into a more neutral position. Some cranks have the ability to adjust chainline by moving spacers...