Post your Propain!

Posted: Mar 28, 2020 at 0:13 Quote
Uchwmdr wrote:
Endurip wrote:
Ordered the Tyee 29" in Januari and need some advise regarding the coil shock:
I ordered the 500 lbs spring and weigh aprox 82 kilo with full gear. The criticism I´we read about the shock is the small bump sensitivity, and being a total noob on this I was thinking by changing to a 450 spring might "put me a little down in the travel", and make it softer, and by doing so lower the bottom bracket a little witch also seem a little high...?
I know that I might bottom out with a 450 spring, but I´we heard from developers that bottoming out a couple of times on a downhill track is normal...

Have I got this all wrong?
500 is good for your weight. I think. The bike is already progressive and that allows you to choose the spring based on the small bump compliance, not on the bottom out resistance.
What is the shock?
Bottom out is a normal thing that is supposed to occur now and then. If you do a 2 m drop you will most probably bottom out. The idea is that you wont feel it in your bones, but just barely notice it. All you need is 30% sag. Then if you bottom out add compression damping /hsc/. And reduce hsr a bit

Thanx fot the reply. The shock is RockShox Super Deluxe ultimate RCT Coil.
I´m just a little worried that I might loose a little weight and if I start riding without a backpack my total weight most lightly will go under 80 kg. I suppose I can correct that later by purchasing a "softer" spring. But the shock system on the Tyee is suppose to be very cramped and make a switch difficult.

Posted: Mar 28, 2020 at 0:30 Quote
Endurip wrote:
Uchwmdr wrote:
Endurip wrote: