building a downhill bike

PB Forum :: Downhill
building a downhill bike
  • Previous Page
Posted: Aug 14, 2017 at 9:31 Quote
ive been riding hardtails for 3 years now and recently one of my friends gave me a santa cruz blurr 1 frame thought it would be a good chance to build a bike. Since im new to downhill i dont really know what parts will work best and i dont want to just throwing money at this thing. Any suggestions on forks, brakes , shock anything really that will help me out?

Posted: Aug 14, 2017 at 21:42 Quote
Riendeau67 wrote:
ive been riding hardtails for 3 years now and recently one of my friends gave me a santa cruz blurr 1 frame thought it would be a good chance to build a bike. Since im new to downhill i dont really know what parts will work best and i dont want to just throwing money at this thing. Any suggestions on forks, brakes , shock anything really that will help me out?
The Santa Cruz Blur is not a DH frame but you can definitely build a trail bike with it. you can get away with using the old parts that you have from your hardtail (swapping it onto the blur frame) I think the rear drop outs are the same with your hardtail unless its boost. You would probably need a shock unless your friend gave you one.

Posted: Aug 15, 2017 at 8:09 Quote
Which one?

The 4x 1 seems decently DH'ish with its slack HT..

https://www.santacruzbicycles.com/en-US/archive/bike/blur

Posted: Aug 15, 2017 at 8:19 Quote
How much do you want to spend? because the sky's the limit here.

If you just have a bare frame, you are going to need to source a rear shock first, then a fork/headset.

Once you have found a fork, then you can look for a wheel set.

Building a bike from a bare frame up, has the potential to be very expensive. So just look for deals, or what what ever used/free component that you can score.

Posted: Aug 15, 2017 at 8:20 Quote
Aaronz25RS wrote:
Which one?

68.5 is pretty steep

Posted: Aug 15, 2017 at 16:41 Quote
Mynameisjeff wrote:
Aaronz25RS wrote: