27.5+ Hardtail Recs

PB Forum :: 27.5/650b
27.5+ Hardtail Recs
Previous Page | Next Page
Posted: Sep 8, 2017 at 7:42 Quote
Hey guys, first time poster here. I'm looking to take my next step in my MTB game with a purchase of a new "aggressive HT" I ride mostly single track, with an occasional downhill slopestyle and jump runs. I'm looking for recommendations for a complete bike for $1,500 USD or less. Here's a little of my background:

I raced BMX for 6 years when I was a young lad.

I moved on to the progressive BMX scene for a number of years.

I then quit for a few years while participating in college sports.

After I graduated, I picked up a hard nose 90's 26' MTB and rode that for about 3 years. It gave me the bug.
I've reached the limit of that bike and am sick of getting rattled.

I'm a bigger rider ( 6'1, 275LBS) so I am looking for something with strong wheels, a quality fork, ans possibly steel frame.

I'm looking for the 27.5 wheel size as from the research Ive done, its the best all around size.

I've looked at a few different bikes and really like the price points of the On One 45650b and the Dee Dar (can't decide which is better suited for me). I dont mind an antry level 1x10 or 11 (NX1) as long as the fork is quality since I'm a big reader.

Do you guys recommend any other bikes in that pricepoint?

TL;DR Agressive HT recommendations for a bigger rider with "slacker" HT and air fork for $1500 or less.

Thanks in advance and REALLY love this site.

Posted: Sep 9, 2017 at 9:20 Quote
Surly Instigator 2.0 in size XL having owned one plus they're £1200-1400 new in UK so cheap where you are in $ I'd expect.

It's a 26+ bike but is pretty sorted spec just get rid of slx brakes for guides with bigger rotors.
That'd be sorted plus add a dropper.
= PROPERJOB!

Posted: Sep 10, 2017 at 16:20 Quote
I think I've got it narrowed down to the On One Dee Dar or the Commencal Meta HT. Can\t decide which one I like better.