Best rear brake for trial riding

PB Forum :: Observed Biketrials
Best rear brake for trial riding
Previous Page |
Posted: Sep 12, 2017 at 9:48 Quote
This summer I started doing a lot of trials with my 2 bikes (a full suspensions enduro and a rigid fatbike) and I dont know if it's the use of the rear brake to its full capacity to block the rear wheel and doing back wheels hop, but I broke 4 different caliper in the last 4 months (They lose their power gradually).

1 Shimano Br-M445
1 Shimano Deore M615
1 Shimano SLX M675 (that was brand new and broke after few hours of trial)
1 Shimano SLX M7000 (that was also brand new)

I've been riding now for over 10 years and never had any issue with Shimano brakes, and never had any repeated issue like this... so I assume it's related to riding trial. I dont want to pay more for XT or XTR, because I do not actually need more braking power, I just want something reliable.

Thanks guy for the help
Sorry if I made some mistake, english is not my first language

Posted: Sep 16, 2017 at 5:32 Quote
They're simply not designed for it..

Your probably over stressing/pressuring the system with your Kung Fu grip on it.. squeezing too hard..

Are you running 203mm rotors? If you're using 160s a lot of bikes come with you're getting 1/2 the power/leverage you should be..

You also might want to look at setup for the future, set the levers to stop on the bars at lockup, so you can't over pressure/stress the system..

Without you seeing fluid leaking the only thing I can think is the hose has some how given way and start to flex causing the power to diminish to nothing..

Hope that helps somehow, most the trials guys running rotors like DM and such are running top spec brakes (as you know) not the cheapies

Posted: Sep 17, 2017 at 15:44 Quote
Thanks for the answer !
But yeah, after riding with a professional this week, I also believe that I was unnecessarily pressing too much on the lever (when ''trialing')'.
Rotors are 180 mm