For the dads out there

• Previous Page
Posted: Sep 14, 2017 at 10:13 Quote
For all the dads out there with 1 or more kids.. do you find time to ride? if so how?

I'm thinking of getting a set of good lights so i can go riding at odd times of day..

Posted: Sep 14, 2017 at 10:28 Quote
I have a 9 month old at home, and for riding this year it's been tough to get out. However, with that being said, I've worked it out with my wife that I need to get out riding at least once a week (this would be about an hour to 2 hour ride) and once a month get out for a day trip somewhere. We plan our week out and then we agree on which day/evening works for my biking and which day/evening works for her outings. We work together and basically we know that both of us need our "me" time and allow that time for one another.

If you don't plan it, it won't happen.

Posted: Sep 14, 2017 at 11:12 Quote
I've got 4 kids. I'm also a physician, so time is not something that I have a lot of.

I make it a priority to get out riding 1-2 times per week. But when I'm not at work and not on a ride, I'm 100% home with the kids and my wife.

And similarly to the guy above me, I try to get my wife out on her own (or with friends) whenever I can.

Posted: Sep 14, 2017 at 13:56 Quote
A 3 and a 7 year old. I just ride when I can, which sometimes means a 5 or 6 am start on a Sat or Sun morning, so I can squeeze in a couple of hours before breakfast, or I've found myself heading out after 8pm when they're both in bed. The one thing I never did though was stop riding. Thankfully my wife also understands that mountain biking is part of who I am, and that helps enormously.

Posted: Sep 14, 2017 at 16:10 Quote