Broken hip? Will I ever come back from this?

PB Forum :: Fitness, Training and Health
Broken hip? Will I ever come back from this?
  • Previous Page
Posted: Apr 29, 2018 at 7:32 Quote
I had a really bad crash the other day and had to be rescued of the mountain. Long story short I dislocated my leg and broke my hip. I'm in the hospital and have multiple surgeries planned but the docs aren't giving me much hope for being a competive mtb again. I've been riding for 20 years and it's pretty much everything to me. I'm devastated to say the least. Has anyone else had a similar injury and came back? It will be at least 6 months till I can even pedal again...

Posted: Apr 30, 2018 at 5:38 Quote
I'm 54 and did this June 21, 2017.on a table top jump (oh and i also shattered my clavicle). I was riding again by October, but i live in NH and it started snowing early so my riding didn't last long. BTW i was hauled out the woods too, went to the local hospital who then shipped me off to Maine Medical, which wasn't a pleasant ride.
I've been riding a lot this spring, yes my hip is sore and i was told it would take a year to be 100% My surgeon is a biker and he said there's no reason i can't live a normal life.
I've read a ton of stuff on this injury, i was on a tri-ironman forum the other day reading comments about broken hips and recovery time. There were lots of athletes that have broken their hip, some where contemplating taking out their screws and plates and lots of info on that too...if i can find it I will post.
anyway here is mine
June 21 2017 Red Tail Trail crash this is my 7 week xray

Posted: Apr 30, 2018 at 6:03 Quote
More thoughts

After surgery my leg was very swollen (yours will be too) and they didn't seem to want to bring me any ICE!!!, so i said very politely can please bring me a giant bag of ice. Don't underestimate the ice, keep it iced, i iced mine daily for over a month. It's free, very simple and it's your best friend. it will help your recovery.