All Things Meta 29er!

PB Forum :: Commencal
All Things Meta 29er!
Posted: Jan 14, 2022 at 1:16 Quote
backpackvideo wrote:
Anybody else experience a creaky bike nearly out of the box? After about 2-3 weeks riding my 2021 AM 29 the creak was killing me, so I stripped everything down and to my surprise, the bearings had almost no grease in most of them. Re-packed and sounds nice and quiet. Maybe I got a bad apple? Wondering if anyone else experienced anything similar on a new bike? Felt kinda unusual especially since it’s new!

Go to the link below and go to picture 15. Clean and grease everything circled in red.

https://www.reddit.com/r/commencal/comments/pb4fds/2021_commencal_meta_am_tear_down_and_findings/?utm_medium=android_app&utm_source=share

Posted: Jan 14, 2022 at 1:20 Quote
Upduro wrote:
Reddit is full of people with absolutely no clue about bikes tho

As an ex bike mechanic I can say the same about Pinkbike. Plus, this subreddit is for Commencal owners. It's not just a MTB forum.

O+
Posted: Jan 14, 2022 at 6:31 Quote
MTB-Ohana wrote:
backpackvideo wrote:
Anybody else experience a creaky bike nearly out of the box? After about 2-3 weeks riding my 2021 AM 29 the creak was killing me, so I stripped everything down and to my surprise, the bearings had almost no grease in most of them. Re-packed and sounds nice and quiet. Maybe I got a bad apple? Wondering if anyone else experienced anything similar on a new bike? Felt kinda unusual especially since it’s new!

Go to the link below and go to picture 15. Clean and grease everything circled in red.

https://www.reddit.com/r/commencal/comments/pb4fds/2021_commencal_meta_am_tear_down_and_findings/?utm_medium=android_app&utm_source=share

Thanks for the detailed photos. This is helpful.

O+
Posted: Jan 14, 2022 at 7:04 Quote
What grease do you recommend?

O+
Posted: Jan 15, 2022 at 12:11 Quote