Whyte T129s rear tyre clearance

PB Forum :: 29ers
Whyte T129s rear tyre clearance
  • Previous Page
  • Next Page
Posted: Jun 13, 2018 at 13:45 Quote
Hello everybody.
I'm new to the forum and im looking for some help from someone who has or has had a Whyte T129s and knows a bit about them or someone very knowledgeable on Schwalbe tyres in the addix range.

I am in the process of custom building a 2014 frame and to be blunt im struggling with rear tyre clearance.

So to be specific about my build and me and give a bit of background and context.
I'm not the kind of guy that has £2500 to go and drop on a new bike. I'm the kind of guy that would probably upgrade half a new bike in the first 6 months even if I did though. I am a qualified construction equipment technician though so I am very handy with the tools and I get as much enjoyment out of working on bikes as I do riding them So this is why im building and not buying. Also ive never had a bike at this kind of level so ive been doing a lot of learning as I have been collecting the parts.

I picked up a really decent frame which is the grey and aqua 2014 model of the T129s. First thing I did look on the Whyte website at the original specs and parts it came with. Im lucky the frame pivots and bearings are all really good on mine and after doing all this a started shopping for parts to suit what I want from the bike.
What I decided was that I would build it at least to the original spec but anywhere I could id go at least one step better.

It came with rockshox reba 120mm ive bought 130mm revelations
it came with sram 2x10 and im going to put SLX 1x11 on it
Avid brakes original, SLX ive ordered.
160 rear 180 front standard. 180mm all round.
WTB skinny rims as standard. ive got the nukeproof 29mm wide ones.
70mm stem and 760 bars standard. 50mm and 780 I have got.
Rockshox reverb it came with and ive got the brand x one.