Santa Cruz HT LT 2018 vs 2019

PB Forum :: Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz HT LT 2018 vs 2019
Previous Page | Next Page
Posted: Oct 26, 2018 at 14:05 Quote
Hello. Newbie here in the group. I am currently looking to purchase a Santa Cruz HTLT to replace my current bike which is a Trek Fuel EX 8. I am giving my current bike to my son, which means I will need a new one to replace it. I cannot make up my mind between the 2018 and 2019. The LBS has both in R build spec. 2018 is approximately $900 cheaper. Parts installed on both bikes are almost the same, so I am not sure if spending the extra $900 to get the 2019 is necessary. I ride less than 500 miles per year in the trail and maybe another 500 miles on the road using my RB and sometimes my MTB. I ride for leisure and fitness. No competition or time trial. Should I go for the cheaper build (201Cool or go for 2019? Should I stick with the R build or spend extra money for the S build? Thanks for the help.

Posted: Oct 26, 2018 at 22:10 Quote
Logically, save the cash. There is a video on the diffs. Not sure what but they aren'r aren't 900usd worth.

Posted: Oct 31, 2018 at 13:28 Quote
i just got a 2018 closeout R build.

the only differences 2019 vs 2018 ... would be NX eagle 12spd vs NX 11spd, sram dub cranks vs race face affect.

the 2018 came with the same SRAM hubs / wtb rim wheelset thats listed for 2019 build NOT the novatec / wtb .

Posted: Nov 1, 2018 at 7:39 Quote
Definitely save the cash. NX 11 speed comes with XD driver, so if you ever want to upgrade to eagle in the future you'll just need to swap derailleur, cassette, chain and chainring. Personally, I found the old 11-speed derailleurs to be less prone to bending so I prefer them. (I own a 2018 s-build HTLT).
I also recommend getting the volume spacers for the rear shock (~40$ from Fox). Unless you're getting an XXL, you'll also need a 'side loading' bottle cage, and a slightly shorter water bottle.