Nomad 4 or Bronson 3? From an Canyon Strive Owner

PB Forum :: Santa Cruz
Nomad 4 or Bronson 3? From an Canyon Strive Owner
  • Next Page
O+
Posted: Jan 18, 2019 at 17:12 Quote
Similar debate for me as well.

I’ve been riding a Banshee Rune (160 rear, 170 front) for the past 5 years. While I love it, I’m 6’3 200lbs and a Large with 441mm reach is way too small for me.
I have a full on dh rig (2017 commencal furious) exculsively for bike park or super gnarly freeride trails. Regular riding days on my Rune can involve everything from shuttle runs with 15’ drops to full day 50km alpine trails.
I like the idea of having a slightly shorter travel bike like the Bronson that is going to be a bit more nimble/playful and distinctly different from my dh bike. But given my size and riding style I can’t help but think the Nomad might be more up to the task.

Posted: Jan 20, 2019 at 11:11 Quote
i think either will pedal better than your strive, also consider the terrain you will be riding. will the slacker nomad slow you down? or is it wide open terrain.
you not really super heavy, so again either should be fine.

I use a 2013 Nomad c with talas180 as my trail bike its 29.5 lbs (no dropper) and pedals so well! 195 lbs
VPP is such an amazing platform.

with a fox 36 160 or mrp dual crown on the nomad, mmmmm!

Posted: Jan 24, 2019 at 5:40 Quote
I’m in the same situation as well. I’d say my riding has migrated to 33% flow style single track, 33% technical rocky rutted downhill style terrain, and 33% bike park shredding. I came off of a meta am v4 that I felt didn’t have enough plowability and road too much like an xc bike, as well as a furious that just felt too numb for my liking.