What Maxxis tire combo is best?

PB Forum :: 29ers
What Maxxis tire combo is best?
  • Previous Page
  • Next Page
Posted: Jan 7, 2019 at 10:19 Quote
It's time to replace the butcher/slaughter combo on my Stumpjumper. East Tennessee winters are not doing too well for my crashing game and I need a tire with a little more grip. So, my question is, what Maxxis tire combo do you recommend for slick roots and leaves but also the occasional Sedona and desert ride? I'm looking at the 29 x 2.4 Minnion DHR II for the back and Ardent up front. Or possibly the DHR II front. Any experiences with that set up?

This is my first time buying new tires and I'm still fairly new to the MTB work. Thanks all!

O+ FL
Posted: Jan 7, 2019 at 12:38 Quote
You don't want an Ardent up front. In east TN the only place open when the trails turn to actual mud is Windrock. Outside of that scenario that you just need something decent in the wet. A DHF or DHR2 would be good up front. An Aggressor, DHR2 or High Roller 2 would be good in the rear. Which trails do you normally ride?

Posted: Jan 8, 2019 at 1:27 Quote
I’m chose Forekasters in end but yet to try them for proper conditions.

O+
Posted: Feb 1, 2019 at 13:49 Quote
DHR infront and aggressor on the back is a magic combo

Posted: Feb 1, 2019 at 13:59 Quote
daemon wrote:
DHR infront and aggressor on the back is a magic combo

Yh this looks like a killer combo in dry

Posted: Feb 3, 2019 at 5:51 Quote
2.5 Maxxis aggressor out back, and 2.5 Maxxis HR2 in front.

Posted: Feb 9, 2019 at 1:41 Quote
Minion in front. Dhf or dhr. Aggressor out back. Aggressor has the highest grip level for a fast rolling rear I've ever rode. Rolls as good as ardent but much stronger and way way way more grip.

O+
Posted: Feb 9, 2019 at 3:27 Quote
I know you're wanting a Maxxis combo (I'd suggest a Shorty up front and a DHR/HR on the back), but have you thought about the Eliminator on the rear and depending how sloppy the terrain is, a Hillbilly.