OneUp Dropper Sticking

PB Forum :: Mechanics' Lounge
OneUp Dropper Sticking
| Next Page
Posted: Oct 4, 2019 at 12:14 Quote
chubby5000 wrote:
OneAlmostUp Dropper.
Just thought I'd add myself to this list with the same issues as the others - the post would extend up to the last inch (using a women's ruler) and I'd have to pull the rest up with my hand. I thought I'd just live with it because I wanted this company to do well. They make great products at a great price, and they're local.
I've been running the post like this for almost 2 years.
I'll try the fine sandpaper on the bushing trick and see if that remedies the issue.

When I emailed them. they sent me the maintenance kit for free and the updated bushing fixed the problem of sticking/not extending. if you are outside of the warranty the kit is only $15US

Posted: Oct 4, 2019 at 14:16 Quote
Same here.
It's aired up to ~280psi and gets really slow return and occasionally doesn't complete the last ~2cm of extension.

I usually just give it a spray of silicon lube and cycle it up and down a few times when I start noticing it getting slow (or after I clean my bike/chain) and that gets it going good again for a while. I'll reach out and see about the warranty bushing though, as the post is only about 6 months old.

Still way better than my old E13 dropper post, that thing was garbage.

Posted: Oct 6, 2019 at 16:38 Quote
So after not having much luck with the new bushing on the second ride out with it I decided to go get some sand paper. I purchased some extra-fine sanding pads from Canadian tire.

At first I ended up sanding the outside of the bushing until the bushing got to the point where I could insert it into the dropper post without me having to forcefully push it down. Next i also gave the inside of the bushing a very light sanding because I felt it could be smoother to the touch.