New to mountain biking

Previous Page | Next Page
Posted: Jun 25, 2019 at 14:27 Quote
I am new to mountain biking ang don’t really want to spend a lot on my first bike but I don’t want a box store bike either. I would like a full suspension bike with a budget around $700. I have been talking to a few guys about bikes and they have told me to stay away from 26” wheel bikes. They say they are old technology and they are being phased out and there won’t be much as far as upgrades for them. What are your thoughts on the subject. Thanks.

Posted: Jun 25, 2019 at 14:41 Quote
At a 700$ price point, 26" might be all that is available to you with dual suspension. (that said, I dont know what currency you are referring to, or what region you are in, as that will impact used bike pricing and availability)

26" wheels , rims and tires are always going to be available. There may be limits in their selection over time and newer manufacturing process, materials and tread designs are likely not going to be released in that wheel size. That said, the youth and recreational and used markets are going to keep replacement parts available for quite some time.

As far as "upgrades" go, thats not really a thing you need worry about. Aside from replacing broken or worn parts, the only upgrade you should be focused on is modern frame geometry, and that comes at a cost.

Get what you can afford, if you are hooked on the sport, save your pennies and then worry about modern, up gradable, performance options.

You can still have tones of fun on any and all trails with a 26" wheel bike. Wheel size alone should not be the limiting factor in your decision, particularly at that price point.

Posted: Jun 25, 2019 at 14:45 Quote
Friend was in the same boat, went up to about $1100 and was able to get a decent bike. As said, $700 doesn't give you many options.

Posted: Jun 25, 2019 at 14:51 Quote