Impact Pro as a trail shoe?

PB Forum :: All Mountain, Enduro & Cross-Country
Impact Pro as a trail shoe?
Previous Page | Next Page
Posted: Jul 10, 2019 at 8:06 Quote
I've been running Freeriders for 6 months, and the soles are starting to wear out on me. They are significantly less stiff and are now cupped in shape. Also, I'm really feeling soreness on the descents more than I'd like. Not sure if it is related, but I'm getting numbness on my forward pinky toe. I'm pretty heavy now, 200lbs, so that could be a factor.

Anyway I found a deal on Impact Pros, which I imagine are substantially stiffer, and am considering them for average trail duty in the desert southwest US. Maybe a stiffer more padded sole will help with comfort on the descents? It's fine if they're hot, I won't mind. Does anyone have opinions of pedaling these around all day? Weight aside, what are the stiffness and comfort differences between the Freerider Pro and Impacts?

Posted: Jul 12, 2019 at 9:03 Quote
I found the impact pro to be way to stiff and would slip on my heel and terrible to walk around in. I now have the freerider pro and they are great for the trail riding I do and no slipping on my heels.

Posted: Jul 13, 2019 at 0:48 Quote
Go fiveten shoes. They are the best I think, last forever and awesome grip. Iv always road clip ins n these shoes are as close to clips as iv ever had

Posted: Jul 13, 2019 at 6:12 Quote
hoytpotater wrote:
I found the impact pro to be way to stiff and would slip on my heel and terrible to walk around in. I now have the freerider pro and they are great for the trail riding I do and no slipping on my heels.

Would your heel slip while pedaling? Thanks this is good info.

Posted: Jul 13, 2019 at 10:24 Quote