I'm designing new pads and need riders opinions

PB Forum :: Bikes, Parts, and Gear
I'm designing new pads and need riders opinions
Previous Page | Next Page
Posted: Aug 19, 2019 at 18:51 Quote
Hi everyone,

I have a cool project going on right now for school and need the MTB community to help out...

I'm basically trying to design a new form of protection for mtb riding, whether its enduro, xc, trail riding, whatever you want to call it.

Im an industrial design student and have 3 months to work on this, figured id reach out the PB community to try and get some info and ideas from you.

What would your ideal protection from crashing be?

What do you love about current pads?

What do you hate about current pads?

What could be improved/changed?

Basically, if you could create your ideal pads for riding, what would they be?

Thanks in advance, and feel free to add any questions, comments, suggestions, and concerns and have a discussion between yourselves!

Posted: Aug 23, 2019 at 12:03 Quote
I'll chime in. I recently crashed on a rock garden section that cut up my forearms and knees. Several cuts were so clean they looked like surgical incisions! The scrapes I had looked like someone took a peeler and peeled my skin off. Needless to say I dug up the old elbow and knee pads tor use again.

Ideal Protection? Light, breathable and doesn't slip. Hardens on impact then flexes back to original shape.

Fox Titan Elbow pads, Likes: Great protection against strikes of all kinds. Also includes triceps protection. Dislikes: Rigid, stiff, no venting. Slips when descending due to sweat.

G-Form Pro-X knee pads, Likes: Lightweight, breathes well; does decent job against strikes. Dislikes: Currently not offered in 2XL or 3XL for thick legged riders. The older version I have is a 2XL yet it's still a tight fit. Worn on ankles when climbing, pulled up over knees when descending. Absorbs strikes but some force is absorbed by the struck area resulting in bruising or light abrasions.