Norco Sight vs Kona Process 134 vs Transition Scout (2019)

PB Forum :: All Mountain, Enduro & Cross-Country
Norco Sight vs Kona Process 134 vs Transition Scout (2019)
Previous Page | Next Page
Posted: Aug 22, 2019 at 23:44 Quote
I’m looking for a fun mid-travel 27.5 bike and these three seem to be the best alloy bikes. I’m relatively new to mountain biking (just started this summer), but progressing super fast as I used to road bike and I’ve snowboarded for years (snowboarding probably sounds like it wouldn’t translate to mtb but it has definitely helped with in air comfortability and bombing downhills) I want something that can climb efficiently, is playful, and competent downhill. I ride trails now but I’m definitely going to be hitting some bike parks next year and I need something that I can grow into. The Process has the least travel, steepest seat tube and average head tube. The Scout has the slackest head and seat tube angles with slightly more travel than the Process. The Sight has the most travel, the slackest seat tube angle, and the same head tube angle as the Process. I know nothing of the rear suspension setup so I’d be interested to hear thoughts. I’d love an SB140 but that’s definitely outta the budget. Lemme know if you have any other suggestions. Thanks.

Posted: Aug 29, 2019 at 16:26 Quote
Haven't ridden the other bikes, but did ride a Sight for my first year back into riding after taking 10 years off. Also an avid snowboarder (27 years). And I can say that the bike kicks some serious ass. I did not expect it to be as capable as it was. As the rust fell off, skills started to come back and I used my snowboarder mentality to just "f*ck it" and bomb descents, it handled it all with ease. Raced some enduros on it... really liked that bike. As for the seat tube angle, you can always just slide your seat forward to accommodate for the slacker angle.