2013 Range really outdated?

PB Forum :: Norco
2013 Range really outdated?
Previous Page | Next Page
Posted: Sep 10, 2019 at 17:25 Quote
hey guys,

I've been rocking my Norco Range Killer B-1 2013 for a few years now.. I love the bike, but I feel its not really efficient while climbing.

Is this bike really outdated? (Where I live, there are no demo bikes of no brands) so it makes it really hard to compare.

Recently, I was offered a chance to buy the frame (frame only) of a 2018 Santa cruz bronson C 27.. for really cheap (brand new)
would it really make a big difference? or is it just the hype of "new tech" and newer models?

Please, any comments would be super helpful

Posted: Sep 10, 2019 at 22:05 Quote
The Range has always had high pedaling anti-squat - i.e. it's not squishy. Actually a little too high in the era of multiple chainrings, such that it would jack (rise up) when using the little ring, which is definitely not efficient. Good in the middle ring, though.

The real problem is the geometry. As is typical of the era, the reach is short, the seat-tube is slack, and the chainstays are short. The rider is pitched way back on climbs, so you have to crunch low and scoot forward. Sitting on the tip of your saddle is inefficient, crunching forward compresses your lungs, and the tight hip angle interferes with your hip flexors. The geometry is optimized for flat terrain, but not ideal on climbs.

Modern geometry optimizes the seated position for climbs, the standing position for descents, and the flat-ground position is the one that's compromised.

Which Bronson are we talking about? The current generation was launched in 2018, but as a 2019 model, if I recall. If it's the current model, you might consider it, though Santa Cruz didn't really get on board with modern geometry until 2019 (model year 2020). If it's the outgoing model, it's not a big enough improvement to be worth it.

Posted: Sep 11, 2019 at 6:03 Quote
thanx for the reply.