Stanton vs Chromag Hardtail

PB Forum :: All Mountain, Enduro & Cross-Country
Stanton vs Chromag Hardtail
Previous Page | Next Page
Posted: Oct 4, 2019 at 18:06 Quote
Interested in peoples thoughts or comparisons of the Stanton Swithchback and Slackline and the Chromag Rootdown and Wideangle? Have you rode these?

I am looking to purchase a high quality hardtail. Will consider used model or may build one. I am a new rider that has not ridden much in the last 20 years and want a hardtail to have fun on and to exercise and go bike fishing. I am 55 years old and a clyde rider at 250lbs. I probably have 50-60 pounds to lose and am 5'8". I currently live in the flat land area of the midwest United States but will be moving to the Rocky Mountain West.

In the last 30 days I have seen my first Mtn Biking videos and have been amazed at what fun can be had. Riding in beautiful places, jumps, technical climbs, flow and downhill descents, bunny hops etc. Granted, I am a beginner and will start slow. The above bikes intrigue me. Based on some videos, the Switchback and Rootdown seem to pull at me, even though the Slackline and Wideangle may be more all around. My priority is a fun, playful bike that excels in mountain terrain. A bike that can climb reasonably. A bike that calls you to ride it.

Your thoughts and insights appreciated!

Posted: Oct 7, 2019 at 8:46 Quote
You get a threaded BB on the Stantons, while the Chormags are press fit I think.

That alone would settle it for me

Posted: Oct 7, 2019 at 10:13 Quote
I've been on a Rootdown for about 3 year now and absolutely love it. The Stanton switch9er looks great too. I don't think you can go wrong with either. The only drawbacks I've found on the rootdown are that it's a little heavy and tire clearance wasn't great, but I think it's been improved on later models.

The rootdown climbs well and handles whatver I can throw at it.