Giant Trance 2019 and up. Experience?

PB Forum :: 29ers
Giant Trance 2019 and up. Experience?
Previous Page | Next Page
Posted: Oct 19, 2019 at 13:06 Quote
Just ordered a 2020 Advanced 1. Wanted to hear people's input on components, setup, whatever you've learned.

Cheers!

Posted: Nov 12, 2019 at 12:10 Quote
I’ve got the 2019. The fork upgrade is awesome on the 2020.

The only upgrade really needed is brakes. I went to Guide RS as I’ve been running them for 4 years and happy with them.

The Eagle GX is clunky (I came from 11 sos X01) but I’ll run it till it’s dead.

Other than that just the usual saddle and cockpit changes. I’m not a fan of any of the giant stuff, just frames and wheels.

Posted: Nov 12, 2019 at 15:00 Quote
Cheers Kiwixc.

I've had 3 1/2 weeks on mine so far, it's all I hoped it would be really. Massive difference in effort on the uphills compared to my Reign, easy to ride and fun on the downs. Surprisingly small difference on the clock descending.

My size large was a tad over 28lbs out of the box. With pedals 29 flat.

Trance BB is 13.2", which seems like industry standard for this category. Hightower, Ripley, etc are also 13.2. Depends on what you're used to I suppose, but if you're coming off an enduro sled it feels relatively tall. Better clearance pedalling uphill for sure.

Standover on large is 30" flat, looks a bit tall but no problems there.

Seat tube is steeper than I expected, perhaps they measured with a different post as the new Giant dropper post has a forward offest head. Had to slide my saddle back a few mm's to achieve perfect seated reach.

Proper sag is important I've found or you'll bottom out that short travel with a scary thunk on big stuff. With DPX2 11mm sag= 25%.