Trek Slash 2021 ?

PB Forum :: Trek
Trek Slash 2021 ?
Posted: Jun 24, 2021 at 9:47 Quote
IJenks wrote:
Hi guys.
Noob here, sorry if this has been covered before.

I've been playing on my 2021 Slash 8 for 9 months. Bike parks and enduro trails mainly. In the past week I've snapped two rear spokes. I can't work out if this is fatigue, poor build (tye wheels do seem pretty true), or some other gremlin. They have both snapped at the hub, making me think it is fatigue.

Have you guys gone through many spokes?

Spokes snapping at the hub is from lack of tension in the wheel. A couple of new spokes and a true and tension at the bike shop.

Posted: Jun 24, 2021 at 10:07 Quote
IJenks wrote:
Hi guys.

I've been playing on my 2021 Slash 8 for 9 months. Bike parks and enduro trails mainly. In the past week I've snapped two rear spokes. I can't work out if this is fatigue, poor build (tye wheels do seem pretty true), or some other gremlin. They have both snapped at the hub, making me think it is fatigue.

Several spokes were coming pretty loose after my 4th ride. Luckily i'm in the habit of checking pretty often as I go through wheels like crazy lol. Guess those bonty wheels dont hold their tension that well, although they are actually surprisingly good otherwise. Could also have just been a bad wheel build from the factory, cus after retensioning they have held up fine since.

Posted: Jun 24, 2021 at 10:42 Quote
nouseforaname wrote:
IJenks wrote:
Hi guys.

Spokes snapping at the hub is from lack of tension in the wheel. A couple of new spokes and a true and tension at the bike shop.

Thanks pal. Will get on it.

Posted: Jun 24, 2021 at 10:44 Quote
its-joe wrote:
IJenks wrote:
Hi guys.