Mental Health and Mountain Biking

PB Forum :: Fitness, Training and Health
Mental Health and Mountain Biking
Previous Page | Next Page
Posted: Mar 25, 2020 at 10:26 Quote
Hello all,

I am a college student doing research on the sport of mountain biking, I am particularly interested in how this sport affects your mental health.
There is a study that discusses the benefits of mountain biking and one's mental health. Many know how any sport can help your mental health as it is an outlet for each individual, however, I would like to dive into the motivational challenges you come across. This can range from an injury stopping you from getting back on the bike, or the challenges of skill progression.
If you have any thoughts/ opinions on any of these topics, please feel free to comment.

If you would like to answer these questions I also welcome all answers.
please include your age/gender & city.

1. How long have you been downhill mountain biking?

2. What were the main reasons that you decided mountain biking was your sport?

3. What do you find are the benefits of mountain biking?

4. How do you feel mountain biking has changed your mental health?

5. Describe the challenges you come across in mountain biking.

6. How did you learn to “let go” when going downhill.

7. Have you ever experienced challenges in staying motivated?

8. What are some of the ways you overcome motivational issues?

9. Do you have any experience with mental health?

10. If yes, then would you be comfortable sharing your experiences.

Posted: Mar 30, 2020 at 22:16 Quote
1. About 10 years
2. Physical health, adrenaline rush, able to see development in skills (progression)
3. Physical and mental health, stress relief, an activity where I can set and achieve goals in a (relatively) short term
4. Mountain biking provides me an activity where I can completely disconnect from everything. When riding, there is absolutely nothing else I am thinking about.