Freecoaster on street trials?

PB Forum :: Observed Biketrials
Freecoaster on street trials?
  • Previous Page
  • Next Page
Posted: Apr 7, 2020 at 21:19 Quote
Is there a good freecoaster for street trials?
I know Ali Clarkson did it in one of his vlogs.
Has anyone done this before?
Thanks!

Posted: Jul 14, 2020 at 21:14 Quote
"Is there a good freecoaster...?"

In my experience, the short answer is that a freecoaster is always going to be a compromise between price/durability/quick engagement. I have yet to find one that I love.

What frame do have, and what kind of rear brake are you running? I may be able to provide more specific advice.

O+
Posted: Nov 23, 2020 at 16:47 Quote
finnvink wrote:
Thanks!

^^^^^^^^^^^ That is right. Freecoaster hubs suck for trials. However there is a solution

Run a 9/6 speed with a neutral gear. Works like a dream.

This way works extremely good. I have been using it for a couple months, it's never snagged or had any issues. i do street trials. Though running gears is questionable in the world of trials, the modern 1X9 clutched narrow wide with e-bike chain in my opinion is just about trials ready. Just needs a strong derailleur hanger and good to go. I am manufacturing a universal strong hanger with a break away bolt. I think this combined with box 2 will eliminate the need to go single speed. Ryan Leech used to do crazy stuff on the old junk 1X9 drivetrain, so I figure all the modern tech is worth giving it another go. Overall I love gears, it's way more fun. If you aren't a super serious competitive rider I would recommend this system.
https://www.pinkbike.com/forum/listcomments/?threadid=224988

Posted: Dec 3, 2021 at 10:39 Quote
Sayshell wrote:
finnvink wrote:
Thanks!

^^^^^^^^^^^ That is right. Freecoaster hubs suck for trials. However there is a solution

Run a 9/6 speed with a neutral gear. Works like a dream.