Which Bike Should I Buy?

Previous Page | Next Page
Posted: May 21, 2020 at 19:34 Quote
Hello all,

I am new to mountain biking and looking to get a solid bike that I can progress with. I am looking for mostly trail riding. I am down to 3 different bikes and was hoping I could get some advice on which bike would be the best for the money. I am 6' 5" and 230 lbs.

The 3 bikes I am looking at are all the XL version with 29ers:

1) Canyon Neuron CF 8.0
2) Giant Trance Advanced Pro 29 3
3) Scott Genius 950

I am mechanically savvy and will not have any issues with assembling/tuning etc, I am just purely looking for what bike will be the best value for the money spent. I am open to any other suggestions for bikes as well.

Thank you all in advanced!

Posted: May 21, 2020 at 21:44 Quote
Is there a reason you have 115mm, 130mm and 150mm rear travel bikes on the list? The first and last also have 65.5 degree head angles while the middle one has 67.5. These are quite different bikes.

Posted: May 21, 2020 at 21:53 Quote
What sort of riding are you looking to do? Bike parks? This can affect any recommendations. As well as what is your budget?

Posted: May 22, 2020 at 8:34 Quote
So I am very new to the sport and pretty clueless when it comes to bike specs. I got these names by basically Googling / watching YouTube videos.

I am mostly looking for a trail bike that does well going downhill as well. I am not going to be hitting any big jumps/drops.

I would like to spend less than 4k for sure, kind of looking at the 3-3.5k range. Do you guys have any recommendations on bikes that fit that bill for someone my size (6'5" 230 lbs).

Posted: May 22, 2020 at 11:26 Quote