Help me suck less with clipless

PB Forum :: All Mountain, Enduro & Cross-Country
Help me suck less with clipless
Previous Page |
Posted: Jun 21, 2020 at 9:16 Quote
I've been riding mostly flats since i started riding, about 10 years, always ran clipless on the road bike, and been trying it off and on with mountain bikes.
My opinion on the whole clips vs flats thing, is that you can be just as fast on flats, its just that once people get serious, they go straight to clipless because its what you do, and their style/technique evolves to suit clipless pedals. You just have a MUCH larger pool of fast people on clipless because if you're serious at all about riding or racing, you're told to go clipless pretty early on. it'd be interesting if you could take some top level riders, give them however long it takes to practice only on flats to the point they're totally comfortable, muscles have adapted, find the right shoe/pedal combo etc. and see the difference, if any.

So anyway, I'm not necessarily wanting to get good with clipless pedals to be faster, I just want to give it a good honest shot so i can ride anything clipless with the same comfort and ability that i can on flats. Theres some rides and races where im super glad i've got flats and that it gives me an advantage. some stages where its unpredictable, loose, chunky, stuff that hangs you up, etc. I've had results up competitive with some of the better pro riders, that im usually not close to.
other times, say if im doing a race with some quick punchy uphill sections over rough ground, i really wish i was on clipless pedals so i can give a max effort sprint and not worry about my feet.

Where still suck on clipless is slow speed or medium speed technical sections, especially tight switchbacks. And getting the most grip out of the bike in corners.