New to mountain bikes, need advice

PB Forum :: Canada - West
New to mountain bikes, need advice
  • Previous Page
  • Next Page
Posted: Aug 1, 2020 at 23:18 Quote
Hi everyone, total noob here. I'm looking to get into mountain bikes this year. I ride a commuter to work and on weekends for fun, but it's just not exciting. So far I'm thinking of getting a Kona Process 153. I'm more interested in enduro style riding, but maybe the occasional bike park day later on when I get some skills developed. Am I wrong to think this is kind of a good do-it-all bike? I've been told a full suspension bike (as opposed to a hardtail) is better for someone starting out and that it is easier on the lower back and knees (I have some minor issues with my lower back and knees after fixing cars for 20 years!).

Also, I don't know anyone else who rides bikes, so it would be good to meet a few new friends to ride with around the lower mainland!

Posted: Aug 2, 2020 at 6:58 Quote
I'm thinking the 153 isn't really what you want for a couple of reasons.
She's a downhill style bike, not so good going up.Also fairly heavy.
If developing skills is the plan a hardtail is what you want to learn on, to 'see lines',and not develop any bad habits.A 29er cross-country or maybe enduro would be my suggestion.

I repaired autos for 50 years so I know about 'bad backs'.

That said, I ride a Superfly full suspension 29er. It's great for everything except full on downhill. But I don't ride as hard as I use to.

Posted: Aug 2, 2020 at 7:11 Quote
Not sure what your budget is, but take a look at the Santa Cruz 5010. Very fun all around bike - in town, on tame trails, on rowdy trails/descents. Does it all. I love riding mine down staircases.

Posted: Aug 3, 2020 at 18:43 Quote
You're going to get a lot of opinions, I'd try and find a bike store that does demos, or at the very least will let you sit on the bike, use a bike store you trust, and just go with the best you can afford that works for you.