Shorter dude wants to move up from a hardtail. Looking for input.

PB Forum :: All Mountain, Enduro & Cross-Country
Shorter dude wants to move up from a hardtail. Looking for input.
  • Previous Page
  • Next Page
O+
Posted: Sep 3, 2020 at 12:12 Quote
Older, 5'5 dude here. Just got back into riding in the woods again 3 years ago. I picked up a new 2017 S-Fuse Pro 6Fattie. I've been riding this bike for 3 years now and absolutely love the Plus tires on this bike.

I live in the North East. Our trails are boney... and if not boney... rooty...usually both... Anyways, I think I am at the point where I want to start hitting these trails on a full suspension bike.

I'm looking for a good all a rounder. Something that climbs reasonably and I can progress with well on the descends, hopefully gaining some speed, I'd like it to still be fun on the pump track too.

I'd like to stay in a 27.5" + if possible. I have a 29er wheel set for my Fuse, but it just doesn't feel right. Not a fair comparison to a proper 29er, but, I'm a midget....

Not sure if I should be looking for trail or enduro style. I don't need carbon, I'm fine with alloy or aluminum.

My LBS is Specialized, so I know I'll be looking at StumpJumpers, but outside of that I'm a little lost. Folks talk up Ibis for shorter folks, So i'd certainly look at the Ripmo AF @$3300 even though its a 29er.

Anyways, what do ya'll think?

O+
Posted: Sep 4, 2020 at 9:13 Quote
If you're looking at a stumpjumper you could get the 27.5 model and the manual say there is clearance for a 3 inch tire

Posted: Sep 6, 2020 at 15:38 Quote
I’d look into a YT Izzo for a trail build. Canyon Spectral if you are looking at something more aggressive.

Both direct sales brands, you’ll get loads more bike per dollar that way.

The Izzo gives you a carbon frame for less than most manufacturers can do a similarly specc’d Alu bike for.

O+
Posted: Sep 6, 2020 at 17:51 Quote
Dr-YTMTB wrote: