Trek slash 2021 vs Giant Reign 2021

PB Forum :: All Mountain, Enduro & Cross-Country
Trek slash 2021 vs Giant Reign 2021
Previous Page |
Posted: Oct 5, 2020 at 11:49 Quote
I have been riding a trek remedy since 2011 and decided it's finally time for an update. Since I have used it on a pretty rough and steep terrain sometimes waay out of the comfort zone of an all-mountain 26er with a (much) outdated geometry I have decided I want to go for an enduro 29er. I would still want a bike that can somehow keep at least a little playfullness (i know this can be contradictive given I want a long travel 29er).

After some initial research I am at the moment leaning towards either Trek Slash 8, or Giant Reign 1. I had the oportunity to try Reign 1 2020 and was blown away. But I would probably feel the same about any enduro bike with a modern geometry, since I don't have much to compare it to. I kind of want to stay loyal to trek, since the old remedy has served me really well (minimal maintnance given quite a heavy amount of abuse it suffered). I also visually like the Slash a little more and most of the reviewers are praising it a lot. But things like Fox 38 fork on the new Reign are making me confused again... I am also wondering how does the back end of the Reign with 146mm travel compare to the Slash's 160mm.

I would appreciate any feedback you guys could give me, especially if you had the opportunity to ride both bikes. If you have a suggestion for another bike that would fit my needs, I would also appreciate it a lot.

Thanks Smile

Posted: Oct 5, 2020 at 20:35 Quote
Ignore the brand loyalty. Buy the Slash because it's an amazing bike.

Posted: Oct 6, 2020 at 5:23 Quote
iliveonnitro wrote: